Jeunes athlètes

Les jeunes athlètes accueillent des enfants de toutes capacités, leurs familles et les membres de la communauté dans le monde d'Olympiques spéciaux

Special Olympics Young Athletes est un programme de sport et de jeu pour les enfants avec et sans déficience intellectuelle (DI), âgés de 2 à 7 ans. Les jeunes athlètes présentent des habiletés sportives de base, comme la course, le coup de pied et le lancer. Jeunes athlètes offre aux familles, aux enseignants, aux soignants et aux membres de la communauté la chance de partager la joie du sport avec tous les enfants.

 

Les jeunes athlètes proposent aux enfants des activités et des jeux qui répondent à leurs niveaux de compétence et d'aptitude individuels, tout en leur permettant de jouer ensemble dans un environnement amusant et inclusif. Le programme montre que tous les enfants doivent être valorisés pour leurs talents et leurs capacités. Des enfants de toutes capacités y participent et ils en bénéficient tous.

Tout le monde profite des jeunes athlètes d'Olympiques spéciaux.

  • Habiletés motrices . Les enfants avec ID qui ont participé à un programme de jeunes athlètes de huit semaines ont vu sept mois de développement de leurs habiletés motrices. Cela est comparé à un gain de trois mois en habiletés motrices pour les enfants qui n'y ont pas participé.

  • Compétences sociales, émotionnelles et d'apprentissage . Les parents et les enseignants des enfants qui ont participé au programme des jeunes athlètes ont déclaré que les enfants avaient acquis des compétences qu'ils utiliseront à l'école préprimaire. Les enfants étaient plus enthousiastes et confiants. Ils ont également mieux joué avec d'autres enfants.

  • Attentes . Les membres de la famille disent que les jeunes athlètes ont fait naître leurs espoirs pour l'avenir de leur enfant.

  • Préparation au sport . Les jeunes athlètes aident les enfants à développer d'importantes habiletés de mouvement et de sport. Ces compétences les préparent à participer à des activités sportives et récréatives lorsqu'ils sont plus âgés.

  • Acceptation . Le jeu inclusif a également un avantage pour les enfants sans pièce d'identité. Cela les aide à mieux comprendre et à accepter les autres.

Everyone benefits from Special Olympics Young Athletes. 

  • Motor skills. Children with ID who took part in an eight-week Young Athletes curriculum saw seven month’s development in motor skill. This is compared to a three month gain in motor skills for children who did not participate.

  • Social, emotional and learning skills. Parents and teachers of children who took part in the Young Athletes curriculum said the children learned skills that they will use in pre-primary school. The children were more enthusiastic and confident. They also played better with other children.

  • Expectations. Family members say that Young Athletes raised their hopes for their child’s future.

  • Sport readiness. Young Athletes helps children develop important movement and sport skills. These skills get them ready to take part in sports and recreation activities when they are older.

  • Acceptance. Inclusive play has a benefit for children without ID as well. It helps them to better understand and accept others. 

IMPACT MONDIAL DES JEUNES ATHLÈTES

Maureen, SOEE Coordinator
Violet, Young Athlete
Tanya Nzvengende, SOA Coordinator
Chris, Parent
Cristina Rodriguez, SOLA Coordinator

Envie d'en savoir plus?

Cliquez ci-dessous pour trouver des ressources pour soutenir le travail des jeunes athlètes et de la jeunesse mondiale.

Ressources pour les jeunes athlètes

Toutes les ressources mondiales pour les jeunes

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

Young Athletes

Young Athletes welcomes children of all abilities, their families and people in the community into the world of Special Olympics

Special Olympics Young Athletes is a sport and play program for children with and without intellectual disabilities (ID), ages 2 to 7 years old. Young Athletes introduces basic sport skills, like running, kicking and throwing. Young Athletes offers families, teachers, caregivers and people from the community the chance to share the joy of sports with all children.

 

Young Athletes provides children with activities and games that meet their individual skill and ability levels, while allowing them to play together in a fun and inclusive environment. The program shows that all children should be valued for their talents and abilities. Children of all abilities take part, and they all benefit.

Everyone benefits from Special Olympics Young Athletes. 

  • Motor skills. Children with ID who took part in an eight-week Young Athletes curriculum saw seven month’s development in motor skill. This is compared to a three month gain in motor skills for children who did not participate.

  • Social, emotional and learning skills. Parents and teachers of children who took part in the Young Athletes curriculum said the children learned skills that they will use in pre-primary school. The children were more enthusiastic and confident. They also played better with other children.

  • Expectations. Family members say that Young Athletes raised their hopes for their child’s future.

  • Sport readiness. Young Athletes helps children develop important movement and sport skills. These skills get them ready to take part in sports and recreation activities when they are older.

  • Acceptance. Inclusive play has a benefit for children without ID as well. It helps them to better understand and accept others. 

GLOBAL IMPACT OF YOUNG ATHLETES

Maureen, SOEE Coordinator
Violet, Young Athlete
Tanya Nzvengende, SOA Coordinator
Chris, Parent
Cristina Rodriguez, SOLA Coordinator

Want to learn more?

Click below to find resources to support Young Athletes and Global Youth work.

Young Athletes Resources

All Global Youth Resources

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH